The Darkroom Annual Report 2022-23



Society Awards

Position	Name of Participant	Name of College	Course
1st	Shubham Verma	SGGCC	BMS (2 nd Year)
2nd	Shubhro Jyoti Dey	Hindu	BFIA (2 nd Year)
2 nd	Shobhit	Shivaji	BMS (2 nd Year)
Finalist	Tushar Vishal	IIT Kanpur	BMS (1 st Year)
Finalist	Abhishek Raina	IIM Amritsar	BFIA (1st Year)
Participant	Himanshi	PGDAV	BFIA (1st Year)
Top 4	Ayushi	PGDAV	BFIA (1st Year)
Participant	Ishant	PGDAV	BMS (1 st Year)
Finalist	Aakash Jain	PGDAV	BMS (1 st Year)
Top 10	Akshaya Arora	Maitreyi	BMS (1 st Year)
Participant	Yash Vardhan Rajoria	LSR	BFIA (2 nd Year)
Finalist	Abhinav	SGGCC	BMS (2 nd Year)
Participant	Akshaya Arora	PGDAV	BMS (1 st Year)
Finalist	Abhinav	SRCC	BMS (2 nd Year)
Finalist	Shubham Verma	IIM Amritsar	BMS (2 nd Year)
Top 10	Abhishek Raina	PGDAV	BFIA (1st Year)
Top 4	Abhinav	Maitreyi	BMS (2 nd Year)
Finalist	Tushar Vishal	LSR	BMS (1st Year)
Top 5	Himanshi	Miranda	BFIA (1st Year)

Inter-college competitions attended by the society members:

Most team-oriented educational competitions require students to tackle demanding tasks that necessitate strong communication, collaboration, and teamwork. Engaging in these competitions enables students to acquire valuable skills in handling subjectivity and effectively evaluating risks. The varied reactions among students to these competitions also influence the extent to which they can reap these advantages. Detractors often assert that competitions create a dichotomy of winners and losers, leading the latter to question their academic capabilities and experience a blow to their self-confidence. However, we now possess knowledge on mitigating the negative impacts of not winning a competition and highlighting the importance of active participation.

Number of Seminars organized by the society: 6

Organized 2 Photo Walks and 4 Knowledge Sharing Sessions (KSS) for Organizing committee members to encourage their exploration of creativity and broaden their horizons. Photography

possesses the ability to inspire individuals through various themes, potentially leading to positive transformations. Additionally, it serves as a visual learning medium, facilitating communication beyond words, changing the perception of observing things. The Darkroom offers its members the chance to acquire marketing skills such as Graphic Designing, Video editing, Motion Graphics, Content Writing, Filmmaking and Photography. To ensure practical experience and effective learning, industry-level expertise was shared through hands-on projects and informative sessions for students.

Number of Fests organized by the society: 1

The Darkroom conducted its annual flagship event, Cynosure, which featured three competitions: Online Photo Story Competition, On-Spot Photography Competition and Reel Making Competition. These competitions required participants to exhibit their creativity, capturing the world through their unique perspectives and sharing it with others. The participants were challenged to contemplate the theme (Modern Paradigm), explore their surroundings, and creatively interpret it through minimally edited photographs. The Reel Making Competition offered participants the opportunity to showcase their ideas directly through visual storytelling. The event provided valuable corporate and event management experience to the organizing students, enabling them to network with participants and diverse societies from other colleges. This immersive experience allowed the organizers to gain insights into maintaining a chain of command and effectively handling multiple tasks within tight timeframes.

Other Initiatives:

- The Darkroom covered college events and societies events such as Shaheed Diwas,
 Convergence, Farewell, Scribble Day, Raasa by FWP, Bollywood Day, Bibliotheca by Lit-Soc,
 CCL by Parishram, FinWiz by FinX, Alumni Meet of AROC to keep them in memories.
- Collaborated with The Literary Society of SSCBS to prepare Quadrangle, the Annual College Magazine of SSCBS.

Student Committee

• President: Rohil Pandit

• Vice President: Ayush Chaudhary

Advisory Committee Member: Rohil Pandit, Ayush Chaudhary, Rishabh Sharma, Mukul Bisht

Coordinator: Shubham Verma, Yash Vardhan Rajoria

Core Committee: Abhinav Rathore, Harshil Pandey, Shivraj Kumar, Shobhit Pratap Singh, Shubham Verma, Shubhro Jyoti Dey, Vasudeep Chaudhary, Yash Vardhan Rajoria, Kabir Sharan Gupta, Gautam Gambhir

Organizing Committee Member: Arjav, Abhishek Raina, Akaash Jain, Akshaya Arora, Ananya Dubey, Anupam Mallick, Ayushi Pandita, Damia Sharma, Himanshi Singh, Khwahish Jaiswal, Neeraj, Yuvraj, Tushar Vishal, Piyush